Two hats

Last month, I knit a hat as a birthday present for Böðvar (boyfriend). I chose Jared’s Koolhas hat pattern, which I find absolutely smashing. I dug up some rests of Rowan Magpie in black, since B. likes it simple. It has quite rough texture and I thought it would fit very well with the pattern to make it look something Böðvar would like. Anyway, it takes quite some time to work with the cable needle in every second row (or was it every row?), but when I had just begun the decreasing at the top, I was out of yarn. Oh, this was frustrating. I checked Rowan’s web site but could not find the Magpie yarn. Still a bit hopeful, I paid a visit to the yarn store to check. It wasn’t available. A little less hopeful, I checked Ebay. I found Rowan-Magpie, but not in black. Now, to save all the work done, I ripped the knitting down to the beginning of the decrease, twice, and finally managed to finish the hat properly using the yarn I had left. It turned out very well and not too short at all, or so I think:

Böðvar wearing Koolhas-1

Böðvar wearing Koolhas-2

And I actually think it looks very good on him. Thus, I was quite sad when he later told me that he thinks it is a bit girly. Especially when someone at school mentioned it was. Argghhh. And he’s wearing the old hat again…

I also knit a hat for my mother using the Foliage hat pattern from Knitty. I used one strand of Dale-Falke and one strand of Kitten Mohair (from Sandnes garn) held together. It’s very soft, but perhaps a little to wide

Foliage hat

Finally, after knitting two lopi-wests for Böðvar’s two daughters (the subject of next post), I decided to do something for myself. At the moment, I’m working on two dresses. One is with a classical lopapeysa-yoke pattern, the other one is a lace dress. I’m so excited to finish and wear them, that I totally neglect the hosehold. My home is a mess! And I even forgot to do the tax-report until one hour before the deadline last night! Fortunately, I got an extension;-)

4 Responses to “Two hats”

  1. hildur Says:

    öööössss, húfan er ekkert stelpuleg. Mér finnst hún bara flott á bróður mínum.
    P.s. ég er búin með kjólinn ;)

  2. Hege Says:

    To bad he thinks the hat is too girly, because he really looks great in it!

    Have a great weekend :)

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Nice hats! I think that Rowan Magpie isn’t made anymore.

  4. Harpa J Says:

    Mér finnst hann mjög karlmannlegur og flottur með húfuna! Þessi rauða er líka mjög falleg.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

