Still going strong

Still pitchblack at 10:30 am! This can be really depressing.

You know what? WordPress and the browser on the linux computer I use (at work) do not like each other any more. I don’t know what happened with wordpress, a while ago, but I have been unable to add a knew post for quite along time! Hence, this long silence. Well, it’s also partly because of the camera no longer works, since I’m quite sure that you don’t like long blogs with no photos! I will try and make up for that know, since I have know borrowed a very, very huge, old digital camera (old compared to the fast development in technology these days). I’ve been working on several things lately. 

I prepared a little project to work on at a one-day meeting on crustal deformation at the end of last October. I had already thread some beds onto this hand-dyed cotton yarn I bought last spring in Uppsala. I didn’t use it for the original purpose, but thought of making a tiny hat for the one rolling around in my womb. So, I drew up a simple heart pattern, one large heart which I placed on the front and one smaller, placed on each ear flap

beaded heart hat for Little Spacey

Unfortunately, the image does not show the nice light green-blue colour of the yarn.

Then, I’ve been working, very slowly, on finishing the white and green baby jacket. I’ve only have some grafting left, and of course sewing on buttons and washing, but I’m nearly there. Then I cast on for a matching hat. The jacket and the hat are intended for 6 months old, so I have some time left for finishing! And I’ll post a photo once the buttons are on!

First some good knews! My brother and sister in law’s first baby was born on November 28th! This is my mother’s first grandchild. And she’ll be getting a second one in a little more than 2 months now. Yes, time really flies. MY baby grows, and the belly too. I think all is going quite well. Except  for my lack of sleep, which sadly kind of decreases my eagerness for knitting in the evenings. But enough of complaining, this is little Arna, my niece

Arna sleeping

I sent her a penguin jacket which I knitted in 1999, if I remember it correctly.  So, it has been waiting for her for quite a long time. A while ago I came across the cute penguin card and in Uppsala last spring, when Arna was finally on her way, I bought the small bath penguin:

A penguin jacket for Arna

I used Lanett superwash baby wool from Sandnes, and even found these perfect penguin buttons! I made it in size 6 months, so it will maybe fit in a couple of months.

This year me and mother will spend christmas up north in Sauðárkrókur with my brother and his little family. We’ll fly there next Friday, in only tree days. Can’t wait to meet Arna! And there I will spend four totally work-free days, enjoying christmas, relaxing and KNITTING. 

P.S. Just started chapter 2 in my thesis last night. Will now post the first chapter to one of my supervisors… Hurray

2 Responses to “Still going strong”

  1. siggasif Says:

    cute baby stuff! and the cotton from Uppsala looks really nice – I look forward to seeing it in person.

    Gleðileg jól Sigurlaug mín og hafðu það rosalega gott fyrir norðan. Við verðum í sambandi þegar þú kemur aftur í bæinn.

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Oh, beautiful penguin stuff! And the hat is really nice as well.

Leave a Reply

