More baby stuff, and boyfriend’s too

The second project I started for Little Spacey (that’s what my mother calls him/her since she saw the ultrasound image) was this alpaca-woolen top, since this baby will be born during the coldest time of the year. I also just like the deep green-blue colour, and can of course use it as a west over a long sleeve, plain shirt. I’m using rest yarn from the heart-jacket I knit for Elena Maria (a friend’s baby) last spring in Uppsala. I’we finished the back but still working on the front, as you can see (or not, the resolution is awful)

woolen top for fetus- soon baby

This has been kind of a purse-project, i.e. I often carry it around in my purse so I can knit if I have to wait somewhere, like on a red traffic light.

Three years ago, I guess, I bought a striped tank top in NOA NOA. I really liked the colour combination, red and pink (not baby pink), with the unusual addition of orange. Anyway, I came across a simple striped baby-jumper pattern in a Dale-pattern book/magazine I bought a little later. So, I decided to combine this foundness of stripes, nice colours and a tiny, cute baby jumper and knit this one, plus a pair of socks:

Striped baby jumper 

It was ment for no one special, but I think I kind of hoped to be able to use it for my own one day.  I thought about giving it to Arna, my niece, but I’m selfish and have decided not too. Since I have none other ready in this size for Spacey. Although I think it is a boy. But I can’t be 100% sure, can I? Anyway, can’t a baby wear whatever colour? It’s not all pink!

Although I’m in a panic finishing stuff for February, I still found the urge to start something new, not for the baby. The reason this time was really a sale at the yarn store which sells Rowan yarn in Reykjavík, Storkurinn. I saw that some expensive yarn was on sale, yarn which I did not even dare to think of buing earlier for a sweater for B.  I actually did not mean to knit this jumper quite yet, since I haven’t finished the other Rowan jacket for him. But, there were not enough skeins in a single colour. And that’s where the story should have ended. But what’s that then?

Bruce-sleeve

One sleeve of the Bruce cable-jumper finished, and another coming up soon? Made of what???

Huhh, I had already gotten to tempted and all excited about Bruce and as I passed my nearest yarn store (Erla) on my way home from Storkurinn, I found the perfect yarn. And bought it. But maaaan, it was expensive… 

I better finish this one soon. It’s too expensive not too!

4 Responses to “More baby stuff, and boyfriend’s too”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I love pink and orange together as well, especially for babies. If you are happy putting it on a boy, then go ahead! You may have to say “well, it’s not a girl” to people but so what.

    I’m curious to see the cabled sweater and what you end up doing for the rest of it!

  2. Satellite Guy Says:

    Love reading your blog. Great info!

  3. Thesis: 99 pages Lopavesti: Done « Knitomania Says:

    […] this one was off the needles it was time to finish some old stuff. Do you remember the Rowan Bruce cable sweater? Anyway, I cast on for Bruce in December 2006. It has taken waaaay too long time to finish it. I […]

  4. Irving Says:

    I admit, I have not been on this your blog in a long time… BTW it was another happy to see It is such crucial topic and avoided by so many, even pro. I thank you to assist making people more informed of possible problems.

Leave a Reply

