Hippy pappy newyear – blanket knitting

Dearest readers, happy new year!

I spent the Christmas this year up north in Sauðárkrókur, with my brother’s family. And, apart from the stressful day at the airport, me and mother spent three great days there before driving back home the 26th.

I brought a few knitting projects with me. Unfortunately, it was already dark when we started driving north, so I could not knit in the car during those roughly four hours which the travel lasted. I think I will leave all the details concerning the flight company and how they let us wait, and wait, and delayed the flight, which was originally scheduled at 09:30 am. To cut a long story short, it was already to windy to fly when we were finally called to the gate just before five pm. I knew about the storm in the afternoon and when it was due. So did the flight company (at least they should have), but still decided to use the plane scheduled for Sauðárkrókur to fly east first. Anyway, doesn’t matter now, back to the knitting.

I managed to get some things done during the holidays. Firstly, I finished sewing the buttons on the green/cream baby jacket. Secondly, I finished the rib for the matching hat, and started the pattern. The hat was then finished on new years eve, except for the pompom, and know lies stretched and wet and soon ready to wear and to be photographed.

Thirdly, I managed to knit a few rounds of the alpaca west (last post), but knitting plain rib isn’t much fun. So I laid it aside and started the baby blanket.

Knitting blanket

 You probably can’t see it very clearly there, but I ended up using five colours: two shades of green, two of blue and then pink. And it’s colourful indeed!!! Not like any other baby blanket I’ve seen.

I’m starting to get more and more tired and exhausted these days, and was quite busy just before I left north. So I needed my rest during Christmas. But that doesn’t necessarily mean one has to stop knitting…

Resting and knitting

I haven’t finished the blanket yet, and anyway, I have still seven weeks to go. I asked my brother to take the official 7-months photo on Christmas eve. It’s quite awful, I know, but still…

7months two to goI just look kind of chubby. Hmmm. And I’m growing quite fast these days. The days at work are getting more and more difficult, I really need a nap halfway through the day;-) This pregnancy is not quite how I imagined it would be! I really thought I would be running up and down mountains, swimming, finishing my thesis and so forth during those last weeks. Huhhh…

I finally met Sigga Sif last Thursday. We drove together to the Álafoss factory store, as Sigga needed some létt-lopi for a new sweater. I didn’t need anything and just wanted to go there and enjoy watching all the colours and stuff.  But of course I ended up buying two skeins of sockyarn. Haha, I’m hopeless at restraining myself!

The next evening Sigga Sif came for a cup of coffee and the rest of the Christmas cookies. She had started the new sweater and I cast on for the back piece of the cabled sweater. The sleeves are know finished, and I might just finish this one before Böðvar’s birthday, February 8th.

I asked my maybe-future-brother in law do buy a knew digital camera for me in the duty free store last weekend. He’ll be back tomorrow. I really hope he remembered. And if he did, the first thing I’ll do is to photograph the finished objects. Until then.

2 Responses to “Hippy pappy newyear – blanket knitting”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I really like the colours of the blanket from what I can see in the picture. I think it’s going to be very fun!

  2. Claudia Says:

    You look fantastic, congratulations on having a baby soon. I was soo happy reading you are pregnant. Thanks to living with you for a couple of weeks last year, I also started to knit again. Great fun and I enjoy it a lot.

    Hugs and all the best for you
    C.

Leave a Reply

